Typography in Devanagari Script

Devanagari Calligraphy Practice

Typography in Devanagari Script, that is the topic for my Integrated Term Project, i.e. the research paper I am writing over three semesters or one and a half years.

The task is uphill and one third of my time is already over but I have only got more interested. At the end of the stipulated time period I hope to produce not just a set of typography artworks but also a typeface in Devanagari.

This semester I tried to first ask, and then find answers for the following questions –

Is it possible for me to implement what I have learned about Typography (for the Latin script) to the Devanagari script?

If yes, then which principles in particular?

Since the elements that form the letterforms of the Devanagari script are completely different, can the same ideas of Leading and Kerning, among others, be applied to them?

Can I learn calligraphy in Devanagari script even though it involves holding the pen at a different angle than for Latin?

What stylization can I derive from these calligraphy exercises?

Being an Abugida script and having a distinct set of rules for consonant and vowel usage, how can I treat Devanagari script differently?

Which forms of the script can I manipulate without compromising legibility?

Comments 4

  1. Pingback: Archetype « Work et al

  2. kaa September 29, 2009

    hi pooja, stumbled onto your blog today. Your passion for typography shows. in fact i was searching for a book on typography in the Devanagari script, but could not find one.

  3. kaa September 29, 2009

    hi pooja, stumbled onto your blog today. Your passion for typography shows. in fact i was searching for a book on typography in the Devanagari script, but could not find one. surely lots needs to be done in this. all the best

Leave a Reply

