Type in Transit: Reading and London

There is tonnes of LED displays in the buses in Reading and London and inside the tube stations. I’m surprised I haven’t photographed more than I have. In London, there is always a hurry to get somewhere. Hopefully, over the holidays I’ll have more time at my leisure and compiling these images will be a great distraction from work.

Bus Stop in Reading
This set of images below is from a photograph I took on my first visit to the town center in Reading, right after I had arrived. The alphabet is unicase. All the letters have been force-fitted into five units, making letters like the /m/ too narrow and leaving too much space around letters like the /l/ and /i/.

Picadilly Circus, London Underground
And these are images from the platform at Picadilly Circus station from my trip to the city for TypoLondon. The uppercase letters from this display are compiled here.

Leave a Reply

