Street lettering from India and its neighbours

Lots of blogs about street lettering in India have been catching my eye since I started my own last year. Whether it is a case of suddenly being more aware of them because of my little endeavour, or of lots of people making the effort of documenting street lettering in the country around the same time; I think it is a very good thing. I thought it would be useful to make a public list of all such blogs I have come across. This list has my favourite blogs and blog posts that document lettering from the Indian subcontinent. Of course, the list is nowhere close to exhaustive. I’m sure I have forgotten about some blogs that I didn’t bookmark and there must be others I simply haven’t encountered yet. I’ve also not included any Flickr photosets or groups yet. If you think I have missed an interesting collection, please leave a comment here or tell me on Twitter and I’ll try to add it.

INDIA

By major cities

Delhi
Lettering from the Archive and Streets of Delhi by Aakanksha Gaur
Delhi: Chandni Chowk on You Should Like Type Too by Rob Keller

Mumbai
Photo essay: Bombay Type on Mumbai Boss by Gopal MS
Photo essay: Bombay Type Part II on Mumbai Boss by Gopal MS
Bombay on Mumbai Paused by Gopal MS
CST/VT on Mumbai Paused by Gopal MS
Dadar Textile Shop Signs on You Should Like Type Too by Rob Keller
Mumbai Tempo Service Trucks on You Should Like Type Too by Rob Keller
Miami of India: the Forgotten Capital of Art Deco on MessyNessy Chic by Nessy and Alex

Kolkata
Kolkata Buses’ Pilot Signs on You Should Like Type Too by Rob Keller

Bangalore
Lettering from the Streets of Bangalore by me

Chennai
Street signs of Chennai on Open Practice by Nia Murphy and Selvan Thandipani

Lucknow
Lucknow gun shop signs on You Should Like Type Too by Rob Keller
Everything’s a blur from a bus in UP on You Should Like Type Too by Rob Keller

By script

Bengali
Inscrutable generalities (lettering from Illanbazar) on Rarh Studio Magazine
The memories of shape (lettering from Chandannagar) on Rarh Studio Magazine
The minstrels of letters (lettering from Bolpur) on Rarh Studio Magazine

Gujarati
Painters’ advertisements, and other lettering from Hand Painted Type—Gujarati by Akash Raj Halankar
Handpainted Type Gallery (also has some Devanagari and Latin lettering) by Hanif Kureshi

Malayalam
Keratype by Muneef Hameed

Tamil
Tamil Typography by Tharique Azeez

BANGLADESH
Letters from Bangladesh on Rarh Studio Magazine

SRI LANKA
Found Type Lanka, initiated by the la-ulu Collective

Leave a Reply

