100 Book Pact — Halfway there

I have been a little late in posting about it but a few weeks ago I read my 50th book of the year, reaching the halfway milestone just a little later than my meticulously planned schedule demanded.

This second batch of twenty five books has been an interesting lot. There was one book I disliked but stuck with right to the end (Ravish Kumar’s इश्क़ में शहर होना). I finished a book I had first start reading last year and I’m so glad to have done that (Akshaya Mukul’s Gita Press and the Making of Hindu India). It is one of my favourite non-fiction titles of the year so far. Even though I am not a big fan of the genre, I found myself reading not one, but two mythological fiction titles; one I liked, the other not so much (M.R. Sharan’s Blue: Tales of Reddumone, the Two-Faced and Samhita Arni’s The Missing Queen, I’ll let you guess which one is which). Once when I was in a rut and the other time when I was sick, I turned to old favourites to cheer me up (J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Anne Fadiman’s Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader). I read some children’s books and absolutely adored them (Oliver Jeffers’ The Incredible Book Eating Boy, and Vandana Singh’s Younguncle Comes to Town and Younguncle in the Himalayas). The three English translations I read from Indian languages are all books I would recommend (Vivek Shanbhag’s Ghachar Ghochar, translated from Kannada by Srinath Perur; Salma’s The Hour Past Midnight, translated from Tamil by Lakshmi Holmström; and Matchbox, a collection of short stories, by Ashapurna Debi, translated from Bengali by Prasenjit Gupta). I also read two books recommended by friends (Leonard Koren’s Wabi-Sabi for Artists, Designers, Poets & Philosophers and Yashodhara Dalmia’s Amrita Sher-Gil: A Life). And finally, the number of books I have read this year that are by women is almost at par with the number of books I have read by male authors. A ten women-author-only book streak I pulled in May and June had a little something to so with that.

Here’s a list of the books I have read since this

  1. Ghachar Ghochar by Vivek Shabhag, translated by Srinath Perur
  2. Gita Press and the Making of Hindu India by Akshaya Mukul
  3. Wabi-Sabi for Artists, Designers, Poets & Philosophers by Leonard Cohen
  4. The Other Side of Silence: Voices from the Partition of India by Urvashi Butalia
  5. The Congress by Gerald W. Johnson
  6. इश्क़ में शहर होना by Ravish Kumar
  7. Blue: Tales of Reddumone, the Two-Faced by M. R. Sharan
  8. How to Make a Home by Edward Hollis
  9. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
  10. Picture Abhi Baaki Hai: Bollywood as a Guide to Modern India by Rachel Dwyer
  11. The Hour Past Midnight by Salma, translated by Lakshmi Holmström
  12. The Prithviwallahs by Shashi Kapoor and Deepa Gahlot
  13. Notes from a Small Room by Ruskin Bond
  14. Show Your Work by Austin Kleon
  15. The Incredible Book-Eating Boy by Oliver Jeffers
  16. The Missing Queen by Samhita Arni
  17. Amrita Sher-Gil: A Life by Yashodhara Dalmia
  18. An Alphabet for Gourmands by M. F. K. Fisher
  19. Amrita-Imroz: A Love Story by Uma Trilok
  20. In Other Words by Jhumpa Lahiri, translated by Ann Goldstein
  21. These Hills called Home: Stories from a War Zone by Temsula Ao
  22. Matchbox by Ashapurna Debi, translated by Prasenjit Gupta
  23. Younguncle Comes to Town by Vandana Singh
  24. Younguncle in the Himalayas by Vandana Singh
  25. Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader by Anne Fadiman

Read about the first twenty-five books I read this year here, and follow how I fare in the rest of the year on Instagram, where I post about books I am reading for the 100 Book Pact under #MatraTypeReadsA100.

Comment 1

  1. Pingback: 100 Book Pact — Within touching distance – Its a Nerd’s Life!

Leave a Reply

