100 Book Pact — Within touching distance

After being late the last two times, I am so happy that I am finally ahead of the curve, finishing the seventy-fifth book of the year today. I hope to keep this going and finish a few days left in 2016. It would be terrible for the pact to end up like a college assignment that is frantically finished the night before it is due. I love that the 100 Book Pact has heightened my awareness of the passing of time. Time caught me unawares only once this year, in February, when I fell very behind with the pact. It was early days still, and I learned my lesson. When you have to read hundred books in a year, every single day counts. At the end of September, it doesn’t feel like the year is over even before I took notice. And best of all, I have something concrete to show for it.

Reading in this quarter has been haphazard. I haven’t had the time to make any reading lists, forget any chance to follow them. It has been a tiring few months, and on some days the book pact weighs heavily on me and feels like another large item on my ever-growing to-do list. But then I read a book that I really enjoy and this is a fun project again. Here’s what I have read since my last update—

  1. Undoing Impunity: Speech after Sexual Violence by V. Geetha
  2. Of the Nation Born: The Bangladesh Papers edited by Hameeda Hossain and Amena Mohsin
  3. A Difficult Transition: The Nepal Papers edited by Mandira Sharma and Seira Tamang
  4. Fault Lines of History: The India Papers II edited by Uma Chakravarti
  5. The Search for Justice: The Sri Lanka Papers edited by Kumari Jayawardena and Kishali Pinto-Jayawardena
  6. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts I and II by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne
  7. I, the Salt Doll by Vandana Mishra, translated by Jerry Pinto
  8. Kaifi and I by Shaukat Kaifi, translated by Nasreen Rehman
  9. Doing Time with Nehru by Yin Marsh
  10. Bookspace: Collected essays on libraries edited by Maria Inês Cruz and Lozana Rossenova
  11. Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel
  12. The Customs of the Kingdoms of India by Marco Polo
  13. The Newspaper: Its Place in Democracy by Duane Bradley
  14. Wordygurdyboom! by Sukumar Ray, translated by Sampurna Chatterji
  15. Empires of the Indus: The Story of a River by Alice Albinia
  16. The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by Sydney Padua
  17. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling
  18. Feminism and Nationalism in the Third World by Kumari Jayawardena
  19. How to Deal with Adversity by Christopher Hamilton
  20. Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride by Lucy Knisley
  21. A Stamp is Born by C. R. Pakrashi
  22. Beastly Tales from Here and There by Vikram Seth
  23. Eating Women, Telling Tales by Bulbul Sharma
  24. Eye on Cricket: Reflections on the Great Game by Samir Chopra
  25. The Girl who Ate Books: Adventures in Reading by Nilanjana Roy

You can read about the first twenty-five books I read here, and the next batch here. You can also follow the last leg of my reading pact on Instagram, where I post about it under #MatraTypeReadsA100.

Leave a Reply

